Some folks are really ruining it for the rest of us. What if I really did need to tend to something in my AdWords account? After noticing this little gem of a phishing scam, I am ruined from ever trusting any email reporting to be Google AdWords related.
This one is super elaborate, as you’ll see. So you don’t get buned, here’s how I knew this was a scam. Most phishing emails will provide you a link to a login page. If the scammer is only half intelligent, it will look identical to the login page for the entity they are claiming to be. Oh, but it’s not. Check out the link in the email I received.
Don’t click that link. Right click it, copy the underlying URL, and paste it into a text editor. I’ll bet you it’s not the same as the URL for the actual site login. In this case, the link reads ” http://adwords.google.com/select/login”, but the actual link is to “http://adwords.google.com.fikde.cn/select/Login/”. Notice the “fikde.cn” in there? Guess what? Not Google. The IP address of the server at fikde.cn is 86.126.243.20.
In this Google AdWords phishing scam, it doesn’t even matter what you enter as login credentials. I entered nice.try@asshole.com and no password and was successfully “logged in”. The scammer wants you to get through to the account editing screen where you “update” all your info. Of course, none of that info is going to Google. It’s more likely going to a database of other stolen identities to be sold to the highest bidder.
–
Update: Got another one today. This one links to a scammer who’s using a misspelled subdomain. It’s close, but it’s still not Google – http://adwrods.google.select.IsMyBank.cn/select/Login/index.html
